Search in progress
This is the WordPress site, for editing content. For full site, please visit here.

Scientific Interest Groups

Scientific Interest Groups, or SIGs, represent the social networking within WHI designed to optimize the use of WHI resources by: 

SIGs meet regularly by conference call to accomplish these objectives.  Any interested researchers can participate. To join a specific SIG, contact the corresponding SIG chair to be added to their mailing list and receive notifications about upcoming SIG calls.

SIG Chairs

Scientific Interest GroupChair or Co-ChairsContact E-mail
Aging: Cognition & Functional StatusSteve Rappsrapp@wakehealth.edu
Atrial FibrillationMarco Perezmvperez@stanford.edu
Bone/Fracture & Body CompositionCarolyn Crandallccrandall@mednet.ucla.edu
CancerMichael Simonsimonm@karmanos.org
Cardiovascular DiseaseMarcia Stefanickstefanick@stanford.edu
COVID-19Garnet Andersongarnet@whi.org
Sally Shumakersshumake@wakehealth.edu
Genetics, Proteomics & BiomarkersThemistocles (Tim) Assimestassimes@stanford.edu
Cara Cartyccarty@whi.org
HypertensionNora Franceschininoraf@unc.edu
Bernhard Haringharing.bernhard@gmail.com
Shimbo Daichids2231@cumc.columbia.edu
Minority and Health DisparitiesCrystal Cenecrystal_cene@med.unc.edu
Nutrition/Energy BalanceYasmin Mossavar-Rahmaniyasmin.mossavar-rahmani@einstein.yu.edu
Obesity & DiabetesLesley Tinkerltinker@whi.org
Physical & Built EnvironmentsEric Whitseleric_whitsel@unc.edu
Physical Activity/Body CompositionMichael LaMontemlamonte@buffalo.edu
Psychosocial & Behavioral HealthMichelle Naughtonmichelle.naughton@osumc.edu